a senseless slumber

January 12, 2007


That’s what this hiatus has been, I have decided. And to think that it might have continued were it not for my fortuitous visit to perennial favorite blog Little Man, What Now…I could cry (but that would be silly). It isn’t that I haven’t thought about writing; I have, many times in fact. But laziness, coupled with the pull of a universe full of distractions (hello, 24) has kept me from it. Well no longer. There are a number of articles bouncing around in this head of mine, each one just waiting for a chance to spring forth onto the Interweb. Over the next few days I hope some small number of them will find their way here–I would begin this evening, but it really is getting late. So, to anyone who may have visited mr_wizard lately and wondered whatever happened, I apologize. Now let me get some sleep.

Update 1/11: Silly me. I should have known that it wouldn’t happen today (far too many other things, you see). Check back tomorrow, won’t you?

Update 4/26: Well wouldn’t you know it, it’s nearly May.  And what, you may ask, is going on?  Not much, unfortunately.  This semester has been much busier than I had anticipated and, indeed, than I had desired.  But don’t lose hope!  SUMMER is coming, and with it the promise of lots of idle time for scribbling down miscellaneous thoughts for you eager masses to devour.  As you can see in the comments, Mr. Edwin Hesselthwite of LMWN has graciously invited me to join his team of Britons, so that’s something I will be considering over the next few weeks.  In any case, a pronouncement on the future of mr_wizard will appear before too long.  I still have a great fondness for the work I’ve done here.

–D. S. W.

8 Responses to “a senseless slumber”

  1. MW said

    Hmmm…January 30 and still no signs of life…

  2. MW said

    not even an article about the Oscars – shame, shame

  3. Hmm.. March comes and goes, still no Mr Wizard.

    Just like to point out that if you cant handle running your own blog, there is always space for you at LMWN… We need an American Correspondent on the team.

    How goes?

  4. I said

    133 days….and counting.

  5. Suzanne said

    dude. really. write something.

  6. MW said

    up to 176 days- seriously you need to write something

  7. I have some unfortunate news to report…

    Mr Wizard was walking down Broadway, Manhattan when a terrible confluence of events occured…

    Much as happened in Tunguska, Siberia in 1911, a microscopic Quantum Blackhole came cascading from the sky and happened to choose the spot where Mr Wiz was walking for it to intercept the Earth.

    Despite having a mass equivalent to The Moon, the black hole was less than a millimeter in diameter, and after absorbing Mr Wizard passed through the earth and out the other side in less than 5 minutes (it emerged in the Southern Indian Ocean), and is now well on the way out of our Solar System.

    Unfortunately Mr Wizard was absorbed, and while physicists speculate that he is still alive in the event horizon (and will remain so until the heat death of our universe due to the effects of time dillation), this blog is going to be on hiatus.

  8. u9019u500bu9762..u771fu7684u5f88u9999u7684u8aaau5462. Click https://twitter.com/moooker1

Leave a Reply

