the madness of eBay

September 18, 2006

Author’s Note: The following is more journalish than I would tend towards ordinarily, but given the circumstances I think you’ll agree it was worth an exception (just this once, I promise).

$20.50. It went for $20.50, and I still can’t believe it. It was a brand new Ermenegildo Zegna Italian-made 38R suit probably retailing for more than $2000 but discounted just today on that wonderful online auction site known as eBay for denizens of cyberspace to battle over. I lost the auction due to my own shortsightedness: the bid sat at $4.00 for several minutes, so, with 45 seconds or so remaining, I hastily bid $20 without much thought. Some anonymous somebody swooped in at 10 seconds or so, claiming the prize that was very nearly mine for $0.50 more. I might have cried, but the window was open.

If it’s any consolation, I managed to snare a rather fabulous Zegna tie minutes later in the same sale (some sort of “liquidation,” according to the seller) for the outrageous sum of $8.00 including shipping. Some self-congratulatory whooping was in order, as I’d managed to fend off two challengers before the clock ran out, yet I can scarcely imagine what unbridled enthusiasm I might be feeling now if I had only bid more at that one critical instant. Ah, well. There are always other evenings….

–D. S. W.

One Response to “the madness of eBay”

  1. The fortunes of EBay. I have had similar successes (and downfalls) on the site. I feel you pain but assure you that there will always be more where that came from!

Leave a Reply

