update on the top 100

August 23, 2006

cinema
If you will recall, I recently announced my intention to work my way through some, if not all, of the films on AFI’s list of the top 100 American films. Having watched several now, I am already beginning to feel as if, at long last, my grasp of film as a medium is crystallizing into a coherent notion of its past and future. Feelings and minute details seized upon in these classic films are more familiar to me from more recent releases, though it would seem that the reverse ought to be true. At any rate, it has been a thoroughly enjoyable time watching and writing about them, and also a critically important (in hindsight) exploration of the world of cinema. Tomorrow I should have a write-up of my most recent DVD purchase, the 1977 Woody Allen film Annie Hall, so do check back then.

Update 8/25: The Annie Hall review should be ready late this evening.  Sorry for the delay.

–D. S. W.

Leave a Reply

