the top 100

August 11, 2006

cinema
Looking through the American Film Institute’s list of the top 100 American films, I was amazed at how few of them I had actually seen. Something must be done about that, I have decided, so over the next few weeks I anticipate viewing as many as I can fit into my schedule. First up is The Graduate, the 1967 Dustin Hoffman film that “defined a generation” (or so says the back cover) and coming in at #7 on the list. Look for a few thoughts–I may not manage an actual review–on it sometime tomorrow (it’s just after midnight as I write this), with The Godfather and others to follow shortly. And of course, I heartily encourage viewing as many as possible for yourself. They don’t call them “classics” for nil, you know.

–D. S. W.

One Response to “the top 100”

  1. cd said

    Just take the list with a grain of salt. Or a giant salt shaker (no slight on the Graduate and The Godfather, though; for god’s sake see those).

Leave a Reply

