greetings

June 19, 2006

As I sit here typing this, my carton of Haagen Dazs Vanilla as my only companion, I wonder at how this blog came to be. You see, I've always enjoyed writing, always marveled at the seemingly infinite ways of saying even the most mundane things, but it never really occurred to me that I ought to be channelling that interest into something more prolific than the essays and emails that constitute so much of my work during the school year.

The thing that finally did it, I think, was a posting on a website I occasionally browse, shoutwire.com, about the "evil" MPAA and its relentless campaign to "rip off" the American public. As a bit of background, the format of the website in question consists of postings, of which there are numerous kinds, and corresponding "shouts," or comments on the postings. Unfortunately, and most especially in the case of this particular posting, much of what passes for comment is incredibly partisan attacks on anyone and everyone who disagrees with the "shouter" (as those who post comments are called).

I have no love for the MPAA, and indeed I think that their refusal to move to accommodate emerging forms of digital distribution is a major reason for their much-publicized issues with piracy, but I saw the authors of these shouts as people in desperate need of some education about capitalism, democracy, and their rights and responsibilities as citizens of this country. I saw the posting several days ago and have been following the "discussion" with great interest. Last evening, I finally expressed my frustration in what I thought was a clear, careful, and impartial assessment of the situation (though it amounted to a rather strong condemnation of the shouters and of the original poster). For those who are interested in reading it, you can find it here (I posted as "fountain09").

I really was–and am–quite proud of it; posting it was an extraordinarily liberating experience, one that I realized could be extended rather easily to a blog format. Thus, mr_wizard was born. I can't say for sure what I'll be writing about in the coming weeks (and months and years, I hope) or how often (though I should be able to manage weekly updates at the very least), but I will try my very hardest to express my opinions honestly and with as much candor as I can muster.

So, welcome to mr_wizard. Thanks for stopping by, and I sincerely hope you enjoy reading as much as I enjoy posting. Oh, and the first person to correctly name the reference for the blog's title gets five gold stars (Hint: I'm a film buff). Until later, then.

–D. S. W.

Leave a Reply

